Arran Private Cask 13 YO Cask Strength

A Private Sherried Arran CS 13

Reviewed by
Connosr member:



9th Jan 2016

Reviewer rating:


About this score:

Best price to buy online:

Tasting Notes by Victor

The reviewed sample was provided through the generosity of @Robert99. You are a prince, Robert. This bottle originated through the SAQ in Quebec Province, Canada

Nose: right away I notise what appears to be moderate wine influence...otherwise the whisky presents with the strong Isle of Arran grassiness typical of the standard Isle of Arran 10 yo malt. The quality is solidly good, but not exceptional. The sweet/dry balance is good. Water added merged the nose flavours and did not add anything. Score: 21.5/25

Taste: very delicious sherry wine of strong intensity presents itself on a very tasty bed of barley. The sherry quality is not perfect, but is very good. The barley is much less grassy in the mouth than in the nose and more enjoyable. Wood remains invisible. Bravo! Water added merely slightly diluted the otherwise nice flavours. Score: 23.5/25

Finish: long, goes slightly sour and tannic, but remains very tasty. Water added brings in some citrus and emphasises the tannins. Score: 22/25

Balance: very good balance throughout. Score: 22.5/25

Total Sequential Score: 89.5 points



Strength: good to very good in the nose; excellent thereafter. Score: 23.5/25

Quality: very good to excellent throughout. Score: 23/25

Variety: good to very good complexity throughout. Score: 22/25

Harmony: every stage of the tasting works. Score: 22.5/25

Total Non-Sequential Score: 91 points



Comment: this is a very good sherried malt, and a great advertisement for the Isle of Arran Distillery. The sherry quality is not unblemished by sulphur, but as of this tasting the merits far outweigh the deficiencies. If you buy this one, drink it quickly, because usually air exposure will magnify the sulphur flavours. I much prefer the Isle of Arran malts when they are aged several years longer than their standard 10 YO


Whisky details




Arran Private Cask 13 YO Cask Strength






maltmate302 wrote:

@Victor another great review, I especially like the scoring method you use ,it allows me to more accurately assess the strengths and weaknesses of a particular whisky.You are correct in your assessment that Arran's are better with more than ten years aging.I have a few independent 18 year old Arrans myself and they are all very good to excellent in quality. The new 18 year old OB is also gathering some rave reviews. I'm already anticipating a marvelous 25 year old in 6 or 7 years from, I believe, one of the best distillery's in Scotland.

09 January 2016 20:10

Victor wrote:

@maltmate302, thank you. I try in my reviews to concisely convey the information I myself would most want to know about the whisky under observation.

Like you, I have liked quite a few of the Arrans very much...and they do seem to gain a great deal from additional aging.

11 January 2016 16:50

Robert99 wrote:

@Victor You are very kind to me and to this Arran. My experience with it is very similar to you, although I find the alcohol flavor too noticeable at the beginning. Still, I would mark this Arran close to 90, maybe 88.

I never had an Arran older than 14 years. Among the few that I tasted, age didn't seem to be the key factor of quality. For me, Arran has a nail polish flavor that works well when it is not strong but is terrible when it almost dominates all other flavors. With your comment, I may look for older Arran in the future.

14 January 2016 17:22

Add a comment

You must be logged in to comment if you don't have an account why not sign up?

Whisky reviews by distiller (A - D)