Bruichladdich 10 Year Old First Edition

Happy Burns Day! (2 of 3)

Reviewed by
Connosr member:



28th Jan 2016

Reviewer rating:


About this score:

  • Nose: 22
  • Taste: 23
  • Finish: 22
  • Balance: 22

Tasting Notes by talexander

Next up is the First Edition of the Bruichladdich 10 Year Old. Note that this is not the current bottle design, but a slightly older one (but distilled no earlier than December 2000 when the distillery was purchased buy Murray McDavid and re-opened).

The colour is a medium yellow. On the nose, quite herbal with mint and sage. Fruity with green apple, kumquats, melon and a hint of papaya. Quite malty, you know it's young but in a good way. Briny. The peat is almost non-existent but somehow you know it's an Islay. A little water brings out more herbs. A lovely nose.

More citrusy on the palate, and a little oily. Vanilla, butter cream and a lot more brine. A hint of wood with some pine needles and buttered croissants. Maltier and spicier with water. Very refreshing.

The finish is clean and crisp with apple skins, a bit of spice and some sage. I've always been hit-and-miss with Bruichladdich but this to me is the standard house style the way it should be - clean, simple (but with its own complexity) and easy to drink. Straightforward and direct. You can't get this bottling anymore, but do not fret - the current Laddie Ten is just as good.


Whisky details




10 Year Old First Edition




Pale Straw



Nozinan wrote:

So no baby puke?

28 January 2016 03:27

talexander wrote:

I love how I am KNOWN amongst my whisky brethren for detecting baby puke in Bruichladdich....however, none in this one!

28 January 2016 13:21

OlJas wrote:

"The current Laddie Ten"?

28 January 2016 18:11

talexander wrote:

Yes, their current bottling of their ten-year-old is called "The Laddie Ten".

28 January 2016 18:13

Nozinan wrote:

I think the question was in the context of the fact that the Current Laddie 10 is no longer available...

28 January 2016 19:08

Victor wrote:

@Nozinan, I note that the LCBO is currently out of The Laddie Ten. The Laddie Ten was discontinued here in Maryland for awhile, and has for several months now become once more available in stock. When I read your post I thought this is what you probably meant by 'the current Laddie Ten'. BTW I haven't tried this new batch, only the Laddie Ten I bought between 18 and 36 months ago. Looks like the supply drought of The Laddie Ten is coming to an end.

28 January 2016 19:57

cricklewood wrote:

@talexander I get that baby sick aroma from certain whiskys most notably, Bruichladdich and Arran malt. I've come to realize it's probably attributed to type of fermentation notes related to what brings "tropical" flavours forth like papaya (which smell of vomit in my book), pineapple, bananas and such.

28 January 2016 20:55

cricklewood wrote:

@Victor, @Nozinan, I noticed on the Bruichladdich webstore under crate diggers that Laddie ten, 16, 22 are back on sale. However there has been little fanfare about this change, I'm not holding my breath. The Bruichladdich rep is in Montreal for a tasting even next week but the line-up is the same tired Classic Laddie, Islay barley, Port Charlotte NAS and Octomore 6.1. I don't know what's going on with Bruichladdich these days i'm a little underwhelmed.

28 January 2016 21:03

OlJas wrote:

Wow, for how much hullabaloo we heard when The Laddie Ten was originally killed, it's pretty anticlimactic if the passing comment in this review is how we all find out that it's back.

I agree with cricklewood. Bruichladdich has seemed like a big nothing since they were bought out. Octomore is presented as such a distinctly different whisky, that it's easy to omit it from what you think of as coming from Buichladdich. And with that out of the way, it's just a bunch of entry-level NAS bottles and a few weird NAS bottles. Quite an odd range.

28 January 2016 22:17

talexander wrote:

I had no idea that Bruichladdich killed The Laddie Ten so that is my error. I guess instead of calling it "the current bottling" I should have said "the most recent bottling." Yeah, as I mentioned in my review, I've always been hit-and-miss with them, but I also like the 15 year old (2nd edition). The 18 year old (2nd edition) was also quite good. And I love most Port Charlottes and Octomore's, so I guess I like Bruichladdich most when it's heavily peated.

29 January 2016 14:32

Add a comment

You must be logged in to comment if you don't have an account why not sign up?

Whisky reviews by distiller (A - D)