Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Discussions

Looking for a smooth whisky.

0 11

Stoatgobbler started a discussion

Hi, I'm new to whisky, I tried a few, Laphroig, Jamesons, Bushmills, Talisker, Southern Comfort, Jack Daniels & Bowmore.

For my palette Laphroig is too strong, Talisker too rough, ditto Jack Daniels & Southern Comfort, Jamesons is nice enough but little in the way of taste, Bushmills is quite nice and my favourite so far is Bowmore.

To get the list above I've been buying bottles and, in most cases, passing them on after taking a small glass, my friends are happy but my bank balance isn't (smile).

What whiskey would you recommend I try next please?

Stoat

14 years ago

11 replies

@Pierre
Pierre replied

Welcome Stoatgobbler. Sounds like you're not keen on the more peaty, smokey, salty whiskies. Unfortunately on the Scotch front this is what you've been buying.

I reckon you could do worse than something a little softer and more sherried. Maybe a Speyside. Why not try a Balvenie Double Wood or even a Balvenie Signature if you can afford it? About £25 and £30 respectively.

If you live in the UK Tesco, and I think a few other supermarkets, are doing Aberlour 10 for about £16. Like the Balvenie this is another softer Speyside but still a very good quality malt.

All these are accessible, easy drinking whiskies.

Enjoy!

14 years ago 1Who liked this?

@AboutChoice
AboutChoice replied

Hi Stoatgobbler, I have been trying all types of spirits and distillers myself. Currently I like smooth, deeply tasty, complex and a warm (not harsh) finish. I am not crazy about peat/smoke, but now and then I have liked a little.