Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Laphroaig Quarter Cask

On second thought...

0 972

@GeorgyReview by @Georgy

23rd Sep 2016

0

  • Nose
    18
  • Taste
    19
  • Finish
    17
  • Balance
    18
  • Overall
    72

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

I've reviewed this whisky a few days ago after having a few drams and I gave it a pretty decent mark for what it was. But I have to say that as time goes by this whisky becomes flatter and flatter. After a week of tasting it, it's become very plain. Zero to none complexity on the nose and it leaves you with a very cardboard-like cotton mouth oaky aftertaste. I might have purchased a bad bottle of this allegedly "good stuff", who knows.

Some keep saying that is an excellent value for the money. I don't think so. I would say if you're after a really good quality peat moment - buy a few bucks more and get yourself the good ole Ardbeg 10. It will sure as hell not disappoint you.

Related Laphroaig reviews

9 comments

@CampErinJudge
CampErinJudge commented

It's quite possible that you have an "off" bottle. I have had 2 bottles and both were excellent, even over a year after opening (though I do use private preserve).

It's good to see updates but this is the first time I can recall seeing a second review of the same bottle. Did you know that you can edit the score on your original review?

Cheers!

2 years ago 0

@Georgy
Georgy commented

@CampErinJudge I did...I just was so unpleasantly surprised by this one that I just had to write another one. I'm happy that you were luckier than me with this one! Cheers!

2 years ago 0

@Ol_Jas
Ol_Jas commented

I'm a fan of doing a second review.

2 years ago 0

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

@OlJas are you a fan of an actual second review or revisiting and changing the score?

A while ago I started putting my scored INTO my review so that if I choose to change the score the original one remains on record. I think it's better than a second review because all the impressions are there, including comments, and you can see the development over time... It might be harder for another user to find both reviews to compare, especially if that expression has a lot of reviews...

2 years ago 0

@Ol_Jas
Ol_Jas commented

I guess I don't really care. :)

A second review just seems more interesting—maybe more "newsworthy" when it comes across the feed.

2 years ago 0

@BlueNote
BlueNote commented

That is a 15 point drop in a matter of days. Something must be very wrong with either that bottle or your taste buds @Georgy. Good to have a second review, but was it that much better earlier? Or that much worse a few days later? The QC scores consistently in the high 80s. A score of 72 is contrary to almost all other opinion. I suggest you dump this one down the sink and try another bottle sometime. I do agree,though; when in doubt, Ardbeg 10 is probably the best all around bang for buck peated whisky there is.

Cheers.

2 years ago 0

@Georgy
Georgy commented

@BlueNote My buds seem to be working just fine. I've been sipping other whiskies and those are delicious. This QC was very nice at first, but with more and more revisits it became just too bland. On the nose there's just honeyed maltiness and some hint of peat in the background. And that's about it. Not too impressive, is it. So I do believe I got a bad bottle of it

2 years ago 0

@BlueNote
BlueNote commented

@Georgy. It certainly sounds like a bad one. I'm about two-thirds of the way into a bottle and it is still very good. It has as much of the original flavour profile as could be expected after a couple of months without gassing or any other special treatment. When it gets down a bit more I will open another one and see how they compare.

2 years ago 0

@Georgy
Georgy commented

@BlueNote I hope my next bottle of QC will be a better one. Cheers!

2 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in