Whisky Connosr
Shop Join

Balcones '1' Texas Single Malt

Balcones Single Malt Batch 12-2

2 390

@VictorReview by @Victor

24th Dec 2016


  • Nose
  • Taste
  • Finish
  • Balance
  • Overall

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

Balcones Distillery in Waco, Texas released this no age statement 'single' malt whiskey. Batch SM 12-2 was bottled 13 February 2012. A variety of American and European oaks are used in the maturation process. I thank @numen for the reviewed sample

Nose: strong intensity barley-cereal flavours, with a hint of floral perfume and well-integrated vanilla. Nuts and spice are noticeable. Excellent sweet/dry balance. Very harmonious nose. Score: 22.5/25 points

Taste: big piquante flavours, with all of the nose flavours expressing with an edge and style. Delicious. Score: 23/25

Finish: stays long and very strong, ending on very slightly sour cereal. Score; 21.5/25

Balance: excellent in the nose; very good on delivery; good on the finish. Score: 22.5/25

Water added: 1) brings out an enjoyable nuttiness and deepens the wood pitches, and 2) lowers the pitches in the mouth. This Balcones Single Malt Batch 12-2 is quite interesting with water added

Total Sequential Score: 89.5 points

Strength: very strong flavours in all phases. Score 23.5/25

Quality: everything is delicious except for that little bit of sour at the very end. Score: 23/25

Variety: about as much variety as is possible in a simple barley-malt whiskey without peat/smoke/brine/wine. Score: 22/25

Harmony: same as the Balance description above. Score: 22.5/25

Total Non-Sequential Score: 91 points

Comment: for an unadorned barley-malt whiskey Balcones squeezes out just about as much flavour as you can get. Strong malt flavours accompany strong wood flavours. Both are delicious. Highly recommended

Related Balcones Distilling reviews


talexander commented

Great review! I just reviewed some of batch 16-3. Not bad but not amazing - and your notes seem very different from mine, so perhaps there is quite a bit of batch variation?

about one year ago 0

Victor commented

@talexander, I do think that there is some batch variation in the Balcones # 1 Single Malt, but I have also noticed since Day 1 when we first met 5 years ago that you and I tend to use very different descriptors for almost every whisk(e)y. Not a bad thing, of course, just a very different perceptive and interpretive sense.

Another thing with Balcones Malt, I bet that you will notice significant evolutions in the flavour profile after it has been open quite awhile. In the case of the reviews I did, the bottles had been very long opened. I would not now be able to define how one or both of them tasted when first opened, but I do remember thinking that the experience had changed quite a bit. In all cases I did still enjoy the product.

about one year ago 0

talexander commented

Interesting - yes, my bottle was freshly opened for the review. I'll go back to it in a couple of months and see what it's like - thanks!

about one year ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in