Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Crown Royal

Acer pseudoplatanus

0 782

@FrostReview by @Frost

7th May 2014

0

  • Nose
    20
  • Taste
    21
  • Finish
    20
  • Balance
    21
  • Overall
    82

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

Bourbon fanatic or Scotch zealot, you eventually grow curious of whisk(e)y from other regions. About a year ago I became interested to try some Canadian whiskey. I'd already tried the entry level Canadian Club and found it to taste too sweet and unchallenging. And when it comes to Canadian whiskey, there isn't much choice in Australia.

Enter Crown Royal. The art deco styled decanter leaps off the shelf with its stylish and classic look. How can I say no? The emphasis on presentation continues. Open the box and the bottle is in a nice purple and gold pouch with the brand name embroidered on the front. Open the lid and it's screw cap! Didn't expect that (I'm not watering my drink with tears either).

Source: 750ml bottle Glass: Glencairn

Nose: Strong on rye and light vanilla flirting with maple. I let it sit for an hour to see if the nose opens up, I get a bit of citrus and white pepper.

Taste: Uncomplicated, smooth and goes does very easy. At first I was going to write this off as uncomplicated, but there is certainly a depth of flavour going on here. Sweetness, maple syrup, oak and gentle spices.

Finish: Medium to short. A unique pleasant sour after taste lingers on the sides of the tongue. It makes me want more.

I'd call this an “after entry” level drink for someone new to whisk(e)y. It offers enough to challenge the palette yet remains safe. I understand this drink is popular for mixing. It's terribly smooth and I fear adding anything will dilute the flavour to the point of being one dimensional.

Related Crown Royal reviews

7 comments

@paddockjudge
paddockjudge commented

@Frost Nice job on the Crown Royal. The CR Special Reserve is a cut above. Sazerac Royal Canadian Small Batch is similar to the 1970's 'old school' CR Limited Edition, which was stellar. I think you would approve of these - hopefully affordable in OZ at 40% abv.

5 years ago 0

@Frost
Frost commented

@paddockjudge thank you for the feedback on my first review. I appreciate the tips on whisky too - I always appreciate a tip off! Unfortunately I'm yet to see any other Crown Royal's here aside from the standard expression. Interesting you mention Sazerac Royal Canadian Small Batch. There are a few specialty whisky stores around and I'm confident I saw a Sazerac bottle, but I can't recall which expression. I will make a point to go and investigate further.

p.s. being my first review for Connosr I realised I can't edit my review aside for the score. I poured another glass after my review and noted also the taste of pine in the dram. I better drink two before my next review.

5 years ago 0

@GotOak91
GotOak91 commented

CR Black adds a bourbony twist to the original. Unfortunately one of my first reviews let alone first neat whisk(e)y was CR Reserve so I can't really say to much on that. I may have to retry that one. Good first review by the way.

5 years ago 0

@paddockjudge
paddockjudge commented

@GotOak91, You might be surprised how things have changed since you last visited the CR Special Reserve. Our whisky IQ increases quickly in the early years and our base broadens as we develop a deeper understanding of various grains, yeasts, aging techniques and distillation processes. I am interested in knowing if your opinion of CR Special Reserve has changed; if so, in what way.

I haven't tried the CR Black - I hope to someday.

5 years ago 0

@Frost
Frost commented

@GotOak91 thank you for the feedback. Hopefully I will draft more reviews and post them soon.

@paddockjudge I followed your sound advice today and visited a local specialty store with Canadian whisky in mind. I managed to pick up a bottle of Royal Canadian Small Batch. Currently I am working through the Crown Royal and a Canadian Club 12 yr, so it's stockpiled for now.

5 years ago 0

@GotOak91
GotOak91 commented

@paddockjudge I was referencing how my review was probably a little narrow minded and lacking the experience that I now have on whisk(e)y. Maybe at some point I would revisit and rewrite a review.

5 years ago 0

@paddockjudge
paddockjudge commented

@GotOak91 - Interesting that you should make reference to your perspective. I wasn't insinuating a change in the whisky itself; however, some members have noticed a definite difference between batches of the CR Special Reserve. I've tasted some bottles that were far superior to others. Have a look at @Victor's review - he mentions one paticular bottle that was stellar.

5 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in