Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Dalmore 12 Year Old

Highland Cream

0 886

@systemdownReview by @systemdown

12th May 2012

0

  • Nose
    22
  • Taste
    21
  • Finish
    21
  • Balance
    22
  • Overall
    86

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

Related Dalmore reviews

8 comments

@SquidgyAsh
SquidgyAsh commented

Brilliant, stunning review as always! I always look forward to your reviews my friend. Heaps and heaps of information in each and every one of them. You should think of writing a whisky tasting book once you've gone through 30 or 40 whiskies you could start writing it!!

7 years ago 0

@Victor
Victor commented

As I have stated with your previous reviews, I love the time detail-work. This type of deep level review sets a bar at a level that will make most whisky reviews from all sources, commercial-professional, and non-professional, appear shallow and incomplete. Truly no man alive has the time to review thousands of whiskies at this level.

7 years ago 0

@SquidgyAsh
SquidgyAsh commented

Agreed Victor, System is an insanely thorough reviewer, which I love, because you know that if he says a whisky is good, it's good! It's not just good for that first dram and a week later crap. I just wish I could make myself be half as awesome. One day, one day!

7 years ago 0

@Wills
Wills commented

Very detailed review, thx for sharing!

@SquidgyAsh "if he says a whisky is good, it's good" -> Because tasting is very subjective, you still can't say this in my opinion. But it can give you some poke in the right direction. As in this review, because I like this dram very much ;)

7 years ago 0

@SquidgyAsh
SquidgyAsh commented

@Wells hahaha you are correct in that statement, but mmmm if they like the same whiskies that you like, and they say it's good, and they're this exhaustive in their reviews, I'll bet you'd like it :D:D:D

Although to be honest I've only encountered one whisky that was truly godawful. (Canadian Club 12 yr old I'm looking right at you....)

7 years ago 0

@Lars
Lars commented

Great detailed review wish I could write like that. Like you I found that Dalmore 12 yr seems to get better once it's opened for a while. Thanks for sharing.

7 years ago 0

@systemdown
systemdown commented

Cheers for the positive comments guys, you're all too kind. I have some very nerdy ideas in store for the future to put this time-point data to good use. Regardless, I will continue to review in this fashion because I enjoy being thorough.

I'm glad that I'm not merely imagining the remarkable change in this whisky from first opening to merely a week later, let alone the further improvement up to the 1 month mark. I've had some whiskies that start to fade by 1 month! Once I have enough data I should be able to see a pattern to the improvement / degradation curve so that should be interesting. It's my time spent with scientists over the last several years that is driving me to do this probably - don't know whether to blame them or thank them!

7 years ago 0

@SquidgyAsh
SquidgyAsh commented

Hahaha I think maybe a bit of both? I'm debating doing some studies once I have some smaller bottles to decant into so that I can try and study which are improved by some oxidation and which ones are hurt by it. I blame you for that :D

7 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in