Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Glenkinchie 12 Year Old

My personal favorite single malt

0 695

@MisterDiggerReview by @MisterDigger

23rd Jul 2013

0

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    95

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

I was mainly a bourbon drinker until I tried a bottle of Johnnie Walker Gold Label a month ago. Not willing to pay $94 US for another bottle each time, I went on a one month quest to find one better and cheaper, and I did succeed. This led me to try 37 different scotches, with only five of them being blends. I wound up purchasing bottles for half of what I tasted. My tasting style is quite different, since I don't pick out all kinds of tastes that I see in the notes. To me, this is like looking at rock formations and giving them names based upon who saw it first. What I do is sample my scotch in Glencairn glasses side by side. This has led me to this heavily under rated jewel of a single malt. From my simple notes on each one, I would call it light and fruity with just enough smoky taste to let me know that I am drinking scotch. To me, this one is the most balanced for my tastes. I also do not smoke or prefer the heavily smoked Islay Malts. I would rate this one as a tie with my favorite bourbon, Wathen's Single Barrel. I am only rating it at a 95 since I am sure that I may find a better one at a later date. This has been one instense first month of tasting.

My rating also includes cost considerations. I will also be doing more reviews in the future. Anything that I rate at 80 or above is good. Anything above 90 is worth purchasing a bottle again. Anything below 70 is downright repulsive.

Related Glenkinchie reviews

6 comments

@FMichael
FMichael commented

Welcome aboard!

The 12 yr Glenkinchie is an interesting whisky; I find it "grassy/herbal/floral" although it goes down smoothly in these warm summer months.

This time last year my parents, and I consumed approx 3/4 of a bottle - they were watching my dog for the weekend, and I presented them a bottle of the 12 yr Glenkinchie as a "thank you"...Since neither of them had ever had Glenkinchie - they were eager to try it...Needless to say we all enjoyed it!

8 years ago 0

broadwayblue commented

This is an easy to drink whiskey. I generally pour it at the beginning of tasting flights, particularly with friends/family who are new to single malts. It's enjoyable, if slightly one dimensional. Most people would think your score is about 20 points too high, but you have indicated a different scoring system, so you are probably in line, or maybe just a few points higher when that is considered. Typically a 90+ point whiskey is considered excellent, with 95+ being one for the ages.

8 years ago 0

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

If you can get yourself a bottle of Aberlour A'Bunadh, give it a try. You won't look back.

If you like low landers order yourself a bottle of sherry-matured Bladnoch, or you might enjoy their lightly peated bourbon matured offerings. All the ones from the new ownership (circa 2001 on) are stunning, none are less than 43%, and many offered at 55% or cask strength. And most are single cask bottlings.

8 years ago 0

@MisterDigger
MisterDigger commented

Thanks for the welcome everyone!

Nozinan: I have all three of the Aberlours available in my area in my collection now. They will be rated anywhere from 84 to 94 in forthcoming reviews. I will definitely be tasting all three side by side.

Broadwayblue: Glenkinchie 12 was one of the last ones that I tried because I was convinced that most single malt drinkers ignore the Lowlands pretty much. I tried a shot in a bar and was surprised. Then several days later, I tried another shot of it in a different bar. (We call them shots over here across the big pond, but they are still sipped). Since I was still impressed, I bought a bottle for about $50 US and then tested it side by side over several days against some stiff competition. I have already rated all 37 of my tastings and purchases, with reviews to be forthcoming. For me, I will continue to buy this one for the ages unless quality falters.

FMichael: I loved your story! If that Glenkinchie 12 disappeared that quick, then it is some good stuff!

8 years ago 0

@FMichael
FMichael commented

MisterDigger - lol - yeah it was a warm July evening, and since the 'Kinchie 12' is a tad bit on the lighter side - it went down really well, and the next moring - no headache...Nice gentle malt!

8 years ago 0

@MisterDigger
MisterDigger commented

Since writing this review, I have found two more that are equal or better than this one: Glenfarclas 17 and Lagavulin 16. After all that I have tried in a six-week period of intense tasting, I honestly don't think that I will find anything better than these three for less than $100. However, I can't seem to find a bottle of GlenDronach 15, which I would also expect to rate very high (having tried the 18 YO).

8 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in