Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Glenlivet 15 Year Old French Oak Finish

Tropics

0 981

@UisgeJonReview by @UisgeJon

2nd Jan 2013

0

  • Nose
    19
  • Taste
    21
  • Finish
    22
  • Balance
    19
  • Overall
    81

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

This is my first attempt at a review, lets see how it turns out.

I picked this bottle up at a local liquor store because I was looking to try something different. I have to say, it's not a bad bottle. There is something very easy and likable about this one.

Nose: When I poured this and took my first wiff, I very clearly picked up on floral notes and honey. I'm sitting with this dram now and keep going back to it. Not very complex, but very pleasant.

Taste: This didn't disappoint as much as it did surprise. I was expecting much more heavy on the vanilla and honey, but instead find myself surrounded by tropical fruits, cherry, and then...yes, there is that honey on the end. Hmm.

Finish: Fairly long, moist, a hint of spice and more of those tropical notes from the palate. Not too complex, rather simple, but a but of uniqueness compared to what else I have tried.

All in all, this is an enjoyable, easy, summer-esque dram that has no intimidation at all. One I would offer to a non-whisky drinker. A solid B on the scorecard.

Related Glenlivet reviews

9 comments

@SquidgyAsh
SquidgyAsh commented

Good first review! Actually the heck with that! It's a good review period! This is the sort of review that makes me sit there and go "doesn't sound bad, I think I'll have an idea going in what this whisky will taste like, let's give it a shot"

Good job period my friend.

8 years ago 0

@UisgeJon
UisgeJon commented

Hey thanks! That's good to hear! I appreciate the support. Hopefully there will be many more reviews to come.

8 years ago 0

@Wills
Wills commented

Nice review, keep it up :)

8 years ago 0

@UisgeJon
UisgeJon commented

Thank you! I definitely will.

8 years ago 0

@BlissInABarrel
BlissInABarrel commented

aww dammit! i was hoping to be the first person to respond. damn you sguishy and wills! ^_^ just kidding. hey, don't ever worry about what your palate brings to the table. you gotta honor your own opinions and if anyone challenges you in a condescending way then they are a butt hole (if i wanted to deal with an a$@hole i'd fart....that line came from a book of insults. i should buy one to work on my black belt in verbal assassination). anyway, great review and i'm looking forward to hearing your drinking adventures with those islay scotches and japanese whiskies! wow!! 3 am after some drams? you are rock star status.

8 years ago 0

@UisgeJon
UisgeJon commented

@Bliss you kill me. Can I be the Mr. Miyagi to your karate kid? I'll train you in verbal assasination. However, I'm concerned, because I fear you're too nice for verbal assination. I'll see what I can do though.

And yes, 3 AM! When You don't get off work until 11:15 and the bar you're going to is half an hour from your home, AND you don't have to work the next day, it's not as rock star-esque. But hey, I'll take the compliment!

8 years ago 0

@Wills
Wills commented

I guess Bliss can teach us in verbal assasination though ;) Damn I have to chose my words wisely, otherwise she gets me!

8 years ago 0

@BlissInABarrel
BlissInABarrel commented

Wills and Jon, no worries I would never yell at you guys! I respect you and people on connosr too much ! :) is it creepy that I want to meet u guys in person one day and have whisky sessions you awesome dudes?

8 years ago 0

@UisgeJon
UisgeJon commented

Not in the slightest. There's nothing creepy about it! I would love to do that. What's creepy about sharing Whisky with friends?

8 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in