Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Lagavulin 8 Year Old 200th Anniversary

A Mezcaleria in Port Ellen

6 686

@cricklewoodReview by @cricklewood

21st Jan 2018

0

  • Nose
    22
  • Taste
    21
  • Finish
    22
  • Balance
    21
  • Overall
    86

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

Much has been discussed about this one already so I'll dive right in.

Nose: Mineral, green, diesel fumes, burnt hay, almond oil. Its very mezcal like, génépi, bakelite, ashy smoke. With time freshly shucked oysters, a smidge of powdered sugar and pears

Palate: Dark, sharp,oily, acrid smoke. Bitter plants and artichokes, toasted and salted marcona almonds and lovage.

Finish: Bitter, inky, wet wool and grapefruit pith, it's medium in length very drying.

Somedays this is really superb, firing on all cylinders. Other days it's kind of hangs on to one note and goes with it.

I wasn't crazy about this bottle at first. I didn't gas it and I find the final half much better although I don't think it's changed dramatically. A good young uncompromising whisky, again like the 12 yr old, it shows the quality of the distillate.

That said, as many feared (or wanted) this has become part of the regular line-up. At prices like I've seen in some states (45-65$) I would buy this again. Locally it's a 100$ at that price point it competes with many other whiskys and the 16yr old is 129$, I am unlikely to buy a replacement soon.

Related Lagavulin reviews

6 comments

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

Great review! Looking back at my own, I suspect we tasted similarly but you seem to have much more eloquent description. What is "lovage"?

You note that this has become a regular offering. I note in my review almost a year ago how I had hoped it would be.

10 months ago 0

@cricklewood
cricklewood commented

@Nozinan. Thank you very much. I had enjoyed your review as well, how could I forget "edible ashtrays and citrus". That's worthy of an SMWS outturn title.

Yes I see where we picked up some of the same notes. I am really enjoying it more now that at first, in this case I don't think it's the bottle that has changed but me who as come around.

Lovage is a herb, kind of like celery/parsley hybrid on steroids but that descriptor doesn't do it justice. It's very savoury and bitter, it's actually an ingredient in that "Maggi sauce" you know the brown bottle.

10 months ago 1Who liked this?

@Robert99
Robert99 commented

@cricklewood You have an unique style and quite a palate. When you are saying Bakelite, are you refering to the plastic fromthe beggining of the 20th century? I can not thing of something with less odor than bakelite, maybe because I saw it mainly when it has dried and was brittle. I am not sure if I remember a petrolum odor from a fresher bakelite...

10 months ago 0

@cricklewood
cricklewood commented

@Robert99 thanks, I just try and find the best smell memories that fit what I'm looking for, I think we all do it in a way. I remember you telling the Collingwood rep, very seriously that her whisky smelled like homemade playdoh. I'll never forget the look on her face, I think she felt you were trying to trap her. joy

The bakelite note, is maybe analog to @Nozinans review "hot electric wire". To me it's a weird ozone, mineral,petroleum thing. You can buy fresh bakelite parts to replace knobs on vintage guitar amps and such.

10 months ago 1Who liked this?

@Robert99
Robert99 commented

@cricklewood I did say that. Must have been a fun moment for an outside eye. I honestly don't recall it except for a vague impression of awkwardness coming from a rep, at least from my point of you.

It's funny you are making reference to the hot wire as my memories of any bakelite odors are directly related to hot electric small appliances.

10 months ago 0

@Georgy
Georgy commented

This sounds really intense. I'm sure one of my friends would love it. I don't like overwhelming peat monsters, though. I might check it out at a bar!

9 months ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in