Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Nikka Taketsuru 17 Year Old

Named After the Master

0 492

@VictorReview by @Victor

19th Mar 2016

0

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    92

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

Nikka Taketsuru 17 yo is a blended malt. The reviewed sample is thanks to @Robert99

Nose: very strong flavours from both malt and from wood, mostly middle-pitched, but also with a few high and low range pitches. Vivid, clean, clear, strong, and beautiful. Water added brings out fruit and flowers. Beautiful with water. Score: 23.5/25

Taste: fabulous translation of the nose flavours to the mouth. Remains a big whisky, with strong flavours from both barley and from oak. Citrus is evident in the mouth. Is there any wine influence? Maybe a small amount. Water brings out added sweetness and bundles the flavours. Score: 23/25

Finish: stays long and strong with a slow fade out. Water gives a bundled finish which brings out both additional sweetness and additional sourness. Score: 22/25

Balance: excellent in the nose; very good in the mouth. Score; 23.5/25

Total Sequential Score: 92 points

Strength: very strong flavours throughout. Score: 24/25

Quality: all of the flavours are of very good to excellent quality. Score: 23.5/25

Variety: good to very good variety. Score: 22/25

Harmony: excellent in the nose; very good thereafter. Score: 23/25

Total Non-Sequential Score: 92.5 points

Comment: everyone should own a bottle of Nikka Taketsuru 17 Year Old

Related Nikka Taketsuru reviews

4 comments

@Pierre_W
Pierre_W commented

Interestingly, @Victor, I tried this one on many occasions, be it in bars, at home alone by myself or during a tasting, and it never stroke a chord with me. I do remember that I always liked the nose but that the palate invariably failed to deliver on the expectations raised during the nosing session. Be that as it may, the Taketsuru 17yo is now sold out in Japan (as the owner of my favourite bar in Kobe told me back in December), so those of us who are keen to stock up on this while retailers' stocks last abroad should better do so.

3 years ago 0

@Frost
Frost commented

@Victor, a thorough review of a now dwindling blend great. I saw a bottle on my last trip to Japan, nicely priced, but was already stocked up to my tax limit !

3 years ago 0

@Alexsweden
Alexsweden commented

I regret that I didn't get this one before it went out of stock. Now it's unobtainable in Sweden

3 years ago 0

@Robert99
Robert99 commented

@Victor I am glad you like it. I missed your review when you wrote it. This one is special for me because it changes every time I have it. There are days when I have more smoke, the morning when I have more sherry (and alcohol)and the best day when I have both with some wonderful and fruity malt. The strangest part is that when I let my bottle rest for a few months, the first dram is very closed but in the following days you get the best of it. Thanks for another good review.

2 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in