Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Ardbeg Uigeadail

Smokey heaven

0 696

@tjbReview by @tjb

1st Dec 2013

0

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    96

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

There are literally dozens of reviews for this expression. I am not going to say anything new or game changing. This bottle has been open 8 months. As an Islay fan it was on my wish list for a long time before finally getting my hands on it. I was drinking it tonight and went to check on my review to see if my opinion had changed... only to find i have never posted a review. So here are my thoughts.

Nose. Smoke, citrus, seaweed, peat, musty, brine, sherry, honey, vanilla, cedar and cinnamon bark. It is a complex and powerful bouquet which is elusive and changing.

Bonfire smoke is at the fore. Powerful, spices, warming caramel sweetness. Medicinal with malted barley, peat and brine.

Finish is oh so long, smokey, lingering with a peppery tail.

Big flavours, punchy, complex, interesting.

This is a desert island dram for me. One of the best!

Related Ardbeg reviews

6 comments

@FMichael
FMichael commented

I'm curious...What batch/year of bottling is yours?

5 years ago 0

@tjb
tjb commented

It's batch L12 331 16:25 6ML

It's the only bottle I have owned so I don't know if it's a good one or a bad one. What I do know is I like it.

5 years ago 0

@Bigtuna
Bigtuna commented

My bottle was from the same batch and I would rate it just as high. Maybe 94. Some days it may have been higher or slightly lower. I will have to do a full on review when I open my second bottle from the same batch. Needless to say I liked it, I wish I could have tasted some of the older batches. I must admit, 5 years ago I probably would not have liked it.

5 years ago 0

@FMichael
FMichael commented

Wow - either I may have a off-bottling, or I'm not savvy to the smokier Islay malts; my bottling is L12 331 14:26 6 ML...I'm thinking it is probably me.

All that said - I'm still a Lagavulin fan, and just recently discovered Bowmore (more specific the 12 yr)...Good stuff!

5 years ago 0

@tjb
tjb commented

@FMichael I have Whisky friends who don't rate my bottle as highly as me. Scoring, taste and opinion are so subjective and personal. I have reviewed Whisky with a score and then a month later regretted it as I think it's slightly better or don't think the score is worthy. I figure that reviews and scores are just in the moment and can vary. I also assuming that what I've eaten, environment, etc make a difference. When I used to smoke I found it much harder to identify flavours. When I did this review I really took my time.

@Bigtuna I agree that a few years ago I probably wouldn't have liked it as much but my leaning is towards Laphroaig, Ardbeg, Lagavulin and Bowmore in that order.

It's interesting to see what you both think considering we all have the same batch. I love the Lagavulin 16 and the Bowmore 12 is certainly a grower. I would love to try the Bowmore 18 too!

5 years ago 0

Fubar1367 commented

The Bowmore 15 "Darkest" is my desert island malt, but that being said this Ardbeg is outstanding too...

5 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in