Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Crown Royal Monarch 75th Anniversary

Happy (Belated) Bday Canada! 6 of 7

0 693

@talexanderReview by @talexander

6th Jul 2015

0

  • Nose
    23
  • Taste
    24
  • Finish
    23
  • Balance
    23
  • Overall
    93

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

Crown Royal Monarch is a bottling celebrating the 75th Anniversary of the expression. 75 years ago (sorry, 76 years ago since this came out last year), Sam Bronfman created this blended Canadian whisky to celebrate the state visit to Canada of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth in 1939. Apparently this expression features more rye, distilled in Crown Royal's ancient Coffey still - which the original Crown Royal of 1939 likely ran off from. This bottle comes from Batch No. 8.

The colour is a deep brownish gold. On the nose you have the typical signature Crown Royal style - dates, bananas, vanilla and oak. But there is more of a minty rye presence. Ginger. Papaya. Lilacs. Allspice. Lumber. More rye spices emerge with water. Very complex, enjoyable and inviting.

On the palate we get more spices (cloves, cinnamon) as well as grapefruit pith, woody oak, toffee and some vanilla (though less than you might expect). Silky mouthfeel. Herbaceous. Water accentuates the caramel and gives more of a caraway rye kick. Quite delicious, actually - and rather addictive.

The finish is mouth-drying with sawdust, more cloves and rum-raisin - long and always developing with more rich, savoury herbs and spices. This is excellent Canadian whisky - Crown Royal turned up to 11. David de Kergommeaux, the worldwide authority on Canadian whisky, rated this a 96. I wouldn't go quite that high, but I'm going very close. I was going to say that I wish I had bought more bottles when I had the chance, but I just checked inventory and there are many bottles still available in Ontario, and at $CDN60 this is good value for quality. I won't feel bad if I drink more of this than I really should. And next up - our last review - will be a Canadian whisky you cannot get in Canada.

Related Crown Royal reviews

6 comments

@mct
mct commented

Great review!

The only reason I don't buy the crownroyal is because the label is ugly: a "gay-napoleon" theme

4 years ago 0

@talexander
talexander commented

Well, then ya gotta ask yourself - is that a good enough reason not to spend the few bucks just to try it?

4 years ago 0

@paddockjudge
paddockjudge commented

There are some very old whiskies in this blend, however, none quite as old as Napoleon. The star of the show is the rye. It amazes me that a panel of so-called experts picked the maple 'cured' Collingwood 21 YO Rye over this blended masterpiece...stunning, and so is this CR Monarch.

4 years ago 0

@Benancio
Benancio commented

@talexander, Very nice review. I've seen this bottle and several other Crown Royal expressions out now. I don't know crown royal that well and need to explore some of these higher quality whiskeys they are putting out.

I most recently came across a bottle of Crown Royal Hand Selected Barrel. I'm not sure if this is a single barrel or not, the bottle did have a barrel number on it. At 51.5% ABV and the mash bill is reported to be 64% corn, 31.5% rye, and 4.5% malted barley, sounds great, I like the high rye. I was given a tiny sample in a tiny plastic cup, I thought it was very good. I'd have to buy a bottle and sit down with to really tell for sure. Have you hand the Hand Select Barrel?

4 years ago 0

@talexander
talexander commented

@Benancio, the Hand Selected Barrel is not yet available in Canada (US only)...hopefully it will be available here soon, I'm dying to try it.

4 years ago 0

@newreverie
newreverie commented

@Benancio The XO and Monarch are my favorite expressions. I actually own two bottles of the Cask 16 which they do not make any more, but that is essentially the same as the XO. XO is cognac finished and has a smoother and sweeter mouthfeel than standard crown. @talexander has said everything you need to know about the monarch.

4 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in