Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Jack Daniel's Single Barrel 15-5958

Another JDSB

0 788

@talexanderReview by @talexander

25th Mar 2016

0

  • Nose
    23
  • Taste
    22
  • Finish
    22
  • Balance
    21
  • Overall
    88

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

This one was bottled Oct 19 2015 and comes from barrel 15-5957, stored on Rick R-26.

The colour is a dark caramel. On the nose - lots of oak on this one, with sugared raisins, burnt caramel, some black liquorice, vanilla, custard, mint and black pepper. Overripe peaches. Freshly baked butter tarts (like my mum makes!) Maltier, and more herbal, with water. Rather complex overall, with big oak domination.

Drying on the palate, and very woody, with more pepper, cumin, liquorice all-sorts, huge vanilla and wet tobacco. A drop of water tames the wood, while bringing out some sourdough. While I love the oak on the nose, here it is a bit too overwhelming.

The finish is long, ashen and full of spice and wood. This is quite good, but a touch too oaky in my opinion, especially compared to 15-5238 (which I scored a 91). But still not as oaky as the Silver Select (which I scored an 86).

Related Jack Daniel's reviews

7 comments

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

But will it guarantee me an A on my term paper?

3 years ago 0

@talexander
talexander commented

Unfortunately, I do not have the answer to your question.

3 years ago 0

Astroke commented

Off topic, but since my buddy request was not answered, I will let you know that Wiser's Red Letter is reduced to $70 at Fairview Mall/Sheppard Ave LCBO.I picked up 1 and saw there were about 7 others in the case.

Reading your review I noted you enjoyed RL but thought the price was out of line. $70 is getting to the reasonable price point.

Cheers

3 years ago 0

@talexander
talexander commented

Thanks @Astroke. And yes I did respond to your buddy request (maybe check your junk mail in case it ended up there).

3 years ago 0

@newreverie
newreverie commented

@talexander Had one of these the other day and was extremely disappointed. Over wooded and an unrefined nail polish/rubbing alcohol flavor. Luckily it wasn't from a bottle I bought. If you can find the Dickle 9yr 115 SB, those are great examples of what a Tennessee whisky should be.

3 years ago 0

@talexander
talexander commented

@newreverie, they can vary from barrel to barrel - and surprisingly widely. Some are certainly better than others. I've had a few Dickel SBs and they are always very good as well, I think I reviewed a couple on this site.

3 years ago 0

@newreverie
newreverie commented

@talexander Indeed you have reviewed a couple. I looked back and found that I even replied to one of your reviews with excitement that I found 2 bottles of Dickel 9yr SB 103proof for $25 each. Both bottles are from the same barrel and having sampled from one on a few occasions it is easily a 90-92 point whiskey. As for the bottle of JD SB (barrel proof?) I would struggle to place it in the 80s based on my experience with it. Perhaps it will improve the next time I try it.

3 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in