Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Suntory Hibiki Japanese Harmony - Master’s Select

Harmony in a glass - pre-Passover palate cleanser

5 487

@NozinanReview by @Nozinan

26th Mar 2021

1

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    87

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

I haven’t done a review in a while, and I try to get one in before Passover each year. Tomorrow I’ll be locking up the cabinet until after the holiday. I’ve done this every year so that someone who keeps Kosher could confidently drink from my cabinet…. 10 years later that has not come up yet. But I press on.

I chose this expression for 2 reasons. First, I have done a pre-Passover review of a Japanese whisky before (Nikka from the barrel). Second, yesterday my wife and I traded in our aging Subarus (which were ready for Palliative care) for new Subarus, and I thought a Japanese whisky would be appropriate to celebrate (but I was too busy trying to figure out all the bells and whistles and forgot to pour something). Cars have changed in 8 years. Then again, so has whisky.

According to the box, Hibiki is “a noble blend of innumerous malt and grain whiskies from… Yamazaki, Hakushu and Chita distilleries” - essentially a Suntory infinity bottle. I received this as a “Secret Santa” gift in December 2018 from a nephew and his girlfriend (now fiancé), who purchased it at a travel retail store. I have only seen its cousin, without the Master’s Select, in stores in Canada. I opened it February 3, 2019 with my whisky-drinking niece and nephew. It saw quite a bit of use, it seems, as it is just under half full now. But looking back at my records, before today it had not been poured since May 18, 2019. I’ve meant to get to it, and review it, many times, but something has always come up. It has been gassed after each pour.

This expression is reviewed in my usual manner in a standard Glencairn, allowing it to settle after which I take my nosing and tasting notes, followed by the addition of a few drops of water, waiting, then nosing and tasting.


Nose: 23/25

Sweet and fruity, some grainy notes (if smell could have a texture). Something savoury in the background, like a green herb. This is a very clean nose, which punches higher than would be expected at only 43%. No appreciable change with water.

Taste: 21/25

First sip is a little watery and thin on the palate, peppery on the development. In subsequent sips, the fruitiness is there, and again a touch of graininess, not in the mouthfeel but in in the flavour (if taste could have a texture). It lacks a little complexity but it is pleasant enough. It is a bit spirity. Water tones down the pepperiness. It’s still there, in a good way, but the fruits are able to come through more. (22/25)

Finish: 21/25

The finish is slightly peppery and fairly short. Slightly longer-lasting pepper with water.

Balance: 21/25

The nose promises more than the palate delivers, way more.

Score: Neat - 86/100 With Water: 87 /100


This one seems to get better the longer it is in the glass ( about 25-30 minutes now).

I like this whisky. It may be a little underpowered but certainly a pleasant dram that I would not turn down if offered.

What I’ve noticed about many of the Japanese whiskies that I’ve tasted is that the nose is better than the palate. And also, they are very well put together. No flaws. Kind of like a Subaru. Well-engineered, but not the most exciting one on the market.

Happy Passover!

Related Suntory Hibiki reviews

4 comments

@BlueNote
BlueNote commented

@Nozinan Thanks for your usual thorough and informative review. I’ve pretty much given up on Japanese whisky due to the hideous prices.

Can I ask what Subaru models you bought? My 4Runner gets thirstier with every passing year and I’ve been looking at Foresters and Outback’s lately.

19 days ago 4Who liked this?

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

@BlueNote we traded in my Impreza (too low to the ground in winter) and my wife’s forester for 2 foresters (she got the sunroof...). The Impreza is fine if you don’t need a big car and it’s better on gas.

19 days ago 2Who liked this?

@cricklewood
cricklewood commented

Well written and interesting as always.

I remember when you poured this as the opening mystery whisky during a tasting at your home.

This brings to mind fond memories of when we could all get together and project aerosols at each other indoors with minimal risks.

18 days ago 3Who liked this?

@casualtorture
casualtorture commented

That's a good analogy. If German's made whisky it would probably be in an impressive lab and be very over-complicated. We stick to Japanese cars too, my wife has a Mazda CX5 and I have a Nissan Maxima. 70k+ miles on hers now and we've never had to fix a thing. knock on wood

I took the insurance off of mine when covid hit since I knew I wouldn't be driving it to work. I turn it on and let it run in the driveway once a month to warm it up. Lord knows if I'll ever even need a car again. They said we may never need to return to the office.

14 days ago 2Who liked this?

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in