Whisky Connosr
Menu
Buy Whisky Online

Bruichladdich Organic Scottish Barley / Litre

Butter sponge cake!

0 1480

@murrayaitkenReview by @murrayaitken

23rd Oct 2017

1

Bruichladdich Organic Scottish Barley / Litre
  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    80

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

As the title says, i find it like lemon butter sponge cake on the nose, but then on the palate seems dry and nutty and the barley comes through.

Related Bruichladdich reviews

14 comments

@jeanluc
jeanluc commented

Hi @murrayaitken, welcome to Connosr. Master of Malt's tasting notes are spot-on but we encourage community members to post original reviews here if that's ok relaxed

6 years ago 2Who liked this?

@murrayaitken
murrayaitken commented

Sure it's ok... I was being lazy since I couldn't find the image or whisky in the lists, so quickly reviewed it to add to my cabinet but found I can't do that, which is rather annoying (I did start a discussion on that point). Nevertheless, I have changed the review, albeit short. So far a great site, but many images are incorrect, how can this be changed? wink

6 years ago 0

@BlueNote
BlueNote commented

@murrayaitken Perhaps you should take a look at some connosr reviews and get an idea of the format. What you are posting here is of little or no use.

6 years ago 0

@murrayaitken
murrayaitken commented

@BlueNote I tried reading yours since you're suggesting but you've only ever made 1x review.

6 years ago 0

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

@murrayaitken If you want rude you should look at the threads where people are trying to advertise something. @BlueNote was simply gently suggesting that you might use the opportunity to share some more detailed impressions of your experience with this whisky

Members on this site tend to like more specifics, and a lot of people who do net searches to try to figure out hat to buy see these reviews in their results.

Ask yourself: if you read this review by someone else, would it provide anything for you? Entertainment? knowledge, buying advice? If the answer is yes, then you and I probably see things a little differently.

Not everyone likes my reviews (I'm currently writing one), but no one has EVER accused one of my reviews of being too short.

Cheers!

v

6 years ago 1Who liked this?

@murrayaitken
murrayaitken commented

@Nozinan yeah thanks for your comment. As I said earlier, I'm new to the site and since I couldn't find the image or whisky in the lists, I quickly reviewed it since I was drinking it at the time and wanted to add it to my cabinet but found I can't do that, which is rather annoying. I did start a discussion on that point and @jeanluc has commented and assisted. I'm sure I'll find the time to review it again in more detail, as it is quite a different whisky.

6 years ago 0

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

@murrayaitken And given that it's a Litre, you'll have many opportunities to return to it...

6 years ago 1Who liked this?

@murrayaitken
murrayaitken commented

@Nozinan indeed true. The fact is I live across in Malaysia, and buying whiskies in the city are double the price of most western cities, so I buy most of mine whilst Travelling, hence most are 1 litres from duty free airports, probably why almost half of my labels are not listed on the site yet. Well, it's a good thing I travel so much...

6 years ago 1Who liked this?

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

@murrayaitken Travel is such a curse...you have to experience so many things...

I would suggest you consider buying at your destinations but NOT in travel retail. The prices may not be exactly the same, and you'd have to check luggage, but you may find some gems that are less heavily marketed to the fly-by purchaser.

6 years ago 0

@murrayaitken
murrayaitken commented

@Nozinan haha thanks I do when I'm in the right location and can get to the right store. Recently in Japan I got some gems but majority of the time I'm heading through Singapore's Changi Airport, if you've ever been there you'll know they have a good collection, probably the best I've ever seen other than Heathrow.

6 years ago 1Who liked this?

@BlueNote
BlueNote commented

@murrayaitken No offence intended. I just thought you might be able to flesh out your reviews with a bit more useful information. I don't do reviews as I don't feel particularly confident in my ability to distinguish flavour components, but I do lap up the reviews of some of my long term acquaintances here who do have that ability and are extremely helpful to me when it comes to making buying decisions.

Anyway. welcome aboard, I hope you make some good friends here.

6 years ago 2Who liked this?

@murrayaitken
murrayaitken commented

@BlueNote none taken no worries. Actually to be honest I was looking for a decent website or APP to record my whiskies into a library, and came across connosr, which ended up being a much more useful site than what I was first looking for... now I'm here, points all noted and hope to contribute as I have many lovely whiskies and also get to taste many in my line of work... but at times I also find it hard to find the right words to explain my thoughts on a whisky... it took me years to get good at wine reviews, and even though I'm enjoying whiskies around 20+ years now, I hear you.

6 years ago 3Who liked this?

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

@murrayaitken We;;, welcome to the community. I hope you have many years of enjoyment here, as we all do.

6 years ago 0