Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Glenmorangie 10 Year Old - Original

Original but not my first

5 483

@NozinanReview by @Nozinan

8th Jul 2019

1

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    83

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

I’m currently living without my wife and children. Not voluntarily, but by agreement. We recently went to Calgary to celebrate the 40th year of her family coming to Canada and met with some of the sponsors who made it happen. After that (and a little shopping with @Nosebleed) I returned home to work but they’re staying to visit family and see some sights. Party time! - NOT. I had piled a bunch of call into these 2 weeks before we got a puppy, and so I’ve been pretty exhausted.

This evening I saw my neighbour’s daughter (we were room-mates for a year when I went to Teacher’s College) in their driveway so I brought the puppy out to say hello. They were arriving, not leaving, which is for the best because they had their dog and it was freaking mine out. But her mom went inside and brought out a belated 50th birthday gift.

I’ve never had the Original before. My first Glenmorangie was Quinta Ruban, and since then I’ve tried the Signet and, I think, the Lasanta. My B-I-L was gifted an 18 YO but I’m not sure if I tried it. This is the first bottle I’ve owned.

This expression, freshly opened today, is reviewed in my usual manner, allowing it to settle after which I take my nosing and tasting notes, followed by the addition of only a few drops of water, waiting, then nosing and tasting. I don’t usually put water in my low proof whiskies but I wanted to be thorough. I used a Highland Whisky Glass.


Nose: 21.5/25

Very sweet and fruity, syrupy. Slight vegetal note in the background. Green, sour apples. Despite 40%, a little spirity. Not a bad nose. Water brings out the alcohol spiritiness and dulls the other smells. (20/25)

Taste: 20.5/25

A little thin on the mouthfeel. some alcohol nip. Sweet. A little fruity. Apple in the development. Fairly simple. Surprisingly, water smooths out the alcohol nip, but it remains thin. (21/25)

Finish: 20.5/25

Slightly astringent. Some pepper. Not too long.

Balance: 21/25

Uncomplicated. Easy to sip, well-balanced but underpowered.

Score: Neat - 83.5/100 With Water: 82.5/100


This is an easy drinking, pleasant whisky, but not something I’m likely to reach for often at all, not with so many other high proof, complex beauties in my cabinet.

@Markjedi1 ended his review of this in 2017 with “Fine whisky for (no offense!) beginners.” I completely agree with this assessment.

How will I use this bottle? Well, now that my decanted small bottle of Glenlivet 12 is tapering down, this one will be a great one to introduce relative new scotch drinkers to the genre.

Related Glenmorangie reviews

4 comments

@fiddich1980
fiddich1980 commented

The palate profile has dramatically changed from when I last had a Glemorangie in 2004. I was gifted a 1 litre duty free bottle by my BiL. I still have the Glenmorangie glass. The flavour memory of citrus oranges was what I remembered ... crap I'm dating myself.

4 months ago 4Who liked this?

@casualtorture
casualtorture commented

Agree, good one for beginners and an easy sipper. I had this one at 43% and would buy it again for a summer dram.

4 months ago 0

@OdysseusUnbound
OdysseusUnbound commented

@fiddich1980 Like you, I haven’t had this in awhile, but I also seem to remember oranges and shortbread cookies. Who knows?

4 months ago 0

@fiddich1980
fiddich1980 commented

@OdysseusUnbound I read some of the older reviews from 2012 on Connosr. There was notes on orange, lemon, and biscuits. @Victor review mentions orange. Moreover, the majority of the reviews indicated that the complexity gets better with time in the bottle. I know that the bottle I consumed had a label with a tribute to the "16 men of Tain".

4 months ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in