Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Midleton Yellow Spot 12 Year Old

Nozinan Mini and Sample Series - 55

3 286

@NozinanReview by @Nozinan

14th Jun 2019

0

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    86

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

  • Brand: Midleton
  • Type: Irish
  • ABV: 46%
  • Batch: L710131139 08:53 11/04/17

I have limited experience with Irish whiskey. It’s probably because many commonly available expressions are bottled at 40% and I tend to reach for something with a higher ABV. Lately I’ve started to gain the ability to appreciate some lower proof whiskies, though this one is bottled at 46%.

This sample is courtesy @OdysseusUnbound, acquired in a recent sample swap. The bottle was opened on April 12, the same day this sample was poured. I don’t know much about Yellow Spot, other than it is a Pot Still whiskey, and appears to be the older / higher ABV sibling of Green Spot.

This expression is reviewed in a Tuath Irish Whiskey Glass in my usual manner, allowing it to settle after which I take my nosing and tasting notes, followed by the addition of a few drops of water, waiting, then nosing and tasting.


Nose: 21.5/25

Rich, sweet, slightly spirity. Not dissimilar to Redbreast 12YO CS (from memory). Very syrupy. Something savoury. Some baking spices. Later some fruitiness emerges (after the first sip). I don’t find it all that complex, but the richness is pleasant and inviting. With water, a slight hint of pineapple, and (???) wet dog (I took my dog out after adding water).

Taste: 20.5/25

A bit hot and peppery on the first sip, with sweetness in the development. Rich mouthfeel. A hint of fruit (?Apple?). Again not too complex. With water, the fruit is more prominent, the spices come out, but it remains a little spirity. (21.5/25)

Finish: 20/25

Peppery and slightly astringent, with a sourness in the background. Water sweetens the finish and tones down the pepper, and a the exit there is a hint of red wine. (21/25)

Balance: 21/25

The nose is rich but the palate does not have much depth or breadth. Water improves the experience. (21.5/25)

Score: Neat - 82.5/100 With Water: 85.5/100


Hummingbird single origin trinitario 70% dark chocolate compliments this very nicely. Popcorn with cheese flavour not so much.

This continues to open with time and is not at its best until well over 1/2 an hour after pouring and adding water.

I’m very happy to have tried this expression. I’ve tossed around the idea of buying a bottle of this for a while, but I don’t think it brings anything new to the table that I can’t get from something I already have in my cabinet. If offered at a party it would definitely be accepted.


For your reference, I attach a link to @odysseusUnbound’s review, which came from the same bottle:

connosr.com/yellow-spot-12-year-old-whisky…

While he was able to taste and smell more than I was, I do see some common themes.

Thanks again @odysseusUnbound for letting me try this!

Related Midleton reviews

2 comments

@OdysseusUnbound
OdysseusUnbound commented

Thank you for your review. I feel as though I may have done you a disservice by pouring you a sample from a freshly-opened bottle. This one definitely improved with time, although I'm not sure I'd buy another bottle. Even after being open for a month, I needed to give it a good half hour in the glass and I also found it improved by the addition of water. If I had a do-over, I'd drink it down to the "shoulders" and tuck it away in the back of the cabinet, ungassed, for 3-6 months. Oh well, live and learn.

5 months ago 1Who liked this?

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

I still have 20 cc ungassed to come back to in a month or so...

5 months ago 1Who liked this?

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in