Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Springbank 12 Year Old Cask Strength

A three course meal - don't race through it

7 592

@OdysseusUnboundReview by @OdysseusUnbound

9th Jun 2018

0

  • Nose
    24
  • Taste
    23
  • Finish
    23
  • Balance
    22
  • Overall
    92

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

I bought my first Springbank, a 10 year old, a little over a year ago. I purchased it based on nought but its Internet reputation and a seal of approval from the inimitable Ralfy. I was not disappointed. It was, at that point, the most complex whisky I'd ever tasted, save perhaps an outstanding batch/bottle of Lagavulin 16. And the Springbank 10 was a true chameleon that developed beautifully over time. Alas, the Campbeltown malt is not easy to find in Ontario, so I haven't had much of a chance to revisit their offerings, until now.

The sample for this review was graciously provided by @Nozinan This is Springbank 12 YO Cask Strength Batch 11, 53.8 % ABV. It was opened September 4, 2017, gassed after each use, and was 3/4 full when the sample was poured November 13, 2017

Tasting Notes

  • Nose (undiluted): iodine, vegetal peat (no smoke though), a briny mineral note like sea-sprayed rocks, damp wood and dusty hay, reminiscent of an old barn (in a very good way), raisins, some milk chocolate, orange peels. This is a complex nose that develops over time. After 15 minutes in the glass, there's a distinctive salted caramel aroma emerging.

  • Palate (undiluted): rich, oily arrival, full-bodied, spicy white pepper, fresh ginger, oranges and apricots, strong oaky barrel notes (cloves, pepper, barrel char) near the end.

  • Finish: fairly long finish, some peat returning with a bit of smoke and black pepper this time, a chalky minerality returning and ending on some raisin and cereal notes with just a touch of cinnamon and vanilla, (oatmeal cookies perhaps?)

With water the chalky, mineral note comes right forward on the nose, followed by a big wave of salted caramel. The longer this sits, the more that salted caramel aroma takes over, and it's not unpleasant. The old barn notes are pushed back, almost imperceptible, as the raisins and orange peels rush forward. It's still good, but a bit of a disappointment to lose those "old barn" notes. On the palate, the oiliness is diminished with water; it feels a bit waxy, and the whisky's fruity notes (oranges, apricots) again take centre stage with the ginger remaining throughout. The smoke on the finish is slightly subdued, the chalkiness remains, and some milk chocolate notes appear before ending on a sweet, pleasant cereal note. Later, there's a lingering fruity, green apple note with just a hint of cloves. Springbank 12 is very good with water, but I prefer this one at full strength.

This whisky is complex. It develops with time and is not a casual sipper. It's like a terrific three course meal; I spent well over an hour with this one.I was a bit disappointed that the iodine, peat, and old barn notes more or less disappeared with the addition of water. Still, I wouldn't hesitate to purchase a bottle of this whisky.

Related Springbank reviews

5 comments

@Hewie
Hewie commented

Nice review. I've had two bottles from different batches and I found them very similar in profile, so much so that when I tried to do a H2H I really couldn't differentiate between them. However, they seem quite different to the batch which you have a sample from. Mine had a much more prominent sherry influence and what I perceive to be a deeper, darker feel to it. This is from my review "Malt sweetness. Marmalade. Dark sugar, burnt toffee. Fusty (like I imagine a dunnage warehouse) – old books, wet wood and hessian. Salty, brackish. Vegetal peat, a little iodine. Some leather and tobacco leaf. Baking spices, especially ginger – the dried form. White pepper providing additional warmth". There clearly is quite a difference between some batches. I just love those funky notes - it transports me (mentally) to a dunnage warehouse. I agree that it is not a casual sipper and one that I definitely have to be in the mood for.

2 months ago 3Who liked this?

@Robert99
Robert99 commented

@OdysseusUnbound Very nice review. I find Springbank to have sometimes too much funky grass (rotten grass in a bad bottle). The strenght of the 12 yo impart more wood notes and more lower sweet notes that improve the balance. I have a hate love story with Springbank but the 12 is definitely on the love side. Again, great review.

2 months ago 1Who liked this?

@cricklewood
cricklewood commented

@OdysseusUnbound nice review as always. Your observation about this not being a casual sipper is totally correct. I purchased a bottle of batch 12 for our club and it went over a few peoples heads. Not only did the bottle take time to open up, you need to pay attention to this dram.

2 months ago 1Who liked this?

@NamBeist
NamBeist commented

@OdysseusUnbound Thanks for your nice review. I had some drams of Springbank 12 cs with friends yesterday and I have no problem sipping it as a daily dram. It's just a little expensive to be a daily dram. It's such a delight!

2 months ago 3Who liked this?

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in