Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Deanston 12 Year Old

Nozinan Mini and Sample Series - 63

6 586

@NozinanReview by @Nozinan

8th Sep 2019

0

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    86

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

I picked this up in December 2018 while hunting (whisky) with @nosebleed in Calgary. It was reasonably priced and I was hoping we might open it and do a joint review but life got in the way. I brought it home and this afternoon I was looking for something to review and this one called to me.

I haven’t tried many Deanston expressions.

This expression, in a Highland whisky glass, is reviewed in my usual manner, allowing it to settle (actually, while it was settling a politician rang my doorbell and since I knew who he was and he is friendly but represents another party I kept him talking as long as I could and actually it was a long and pleasant conversation, but I still won’t vote for him) after which I take my nosing and tasting notes, followed by the addition of a few drops of water, waiting, then nosing and tasting.


Nose: 22.5/25

Sweet, heavy syrup. Ginger, pie crust. Then Envy apples and baking spices. A little spirity after being covered. Very nice nose. Water seems to mute the nose for about 20 minutes and while it recovers it never comes back as strong (21/25)

Taste: 21/25

Very sweet, fruity on the arrival. A little hot on the tongue. Peppery and slightly bitter. Slightly “grainy texture” on the mouthfeel. Some vanilla. The sweetness fades in the development. The flavour is a little weaker than expected given the nose. Water makes it spicier but thins the mouthfeel, and the vanilla is more prominent in the development. Maybe a hint of lemon zest. (20.5)

Finish: 22/25

Long, astringent, slightly peppery but not bitter. A little more bitter with water. (21.5/25)

Balance:21/25

Te nose promises a little more than the palate delivers. A bit too sweet on the arrival and not quite sweet enough in the development and finish.

Score: Neat - 86.5/100 With Water: 84/100


I was surprised by this one. I usually prefer single malts at 46% or higher with a few drops of water, but in this case I think I will take my next pour of this one neat.

I don't think it offers anything unique enough for me to buy a full size bottle of this, but I probably wouldn't say no if offered this at a party.

Related Deanston reviews

5 comments

@OdysseusUnbound
OdysseusUnbound commented

Thanks for your review. I've seen this one around, but I keep thinking it's going to give me the same impression as what you wrote in your conclusion. I'll probably try it if it's on a bar menu or if it's offered, but I don't think I'd buy a bottle.

13 days ago 1Who liked this?

@BlueNote
BlueNote commented

@Nozinan @OdysseusUnbound I just bought a second one on the last KWM sale. It was under $60, un-chillfiltered, natural colour, 46.3% and very drinkable. If you can give it 86.5 points, I think you'll have to admit, it's a pretty spectacular value.

13 days ago 1Who liked this?

Expand image
@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

It's also a question of what it adds to your cabinet. If it doesn't add something unique, and you already have enough for a lifetime, you can get along quite well without it.

That's the situation I find myself in. Glad I tried it...next.

13 days ago 0

@BlueNote
BlueNote commented

@OdysseusUnbound Yikes, I agree. It’s well worth 60 bucks, but $92? No chance.

@Nozinan It doesn’t bring anything Earth shatteringly new to the table, but still a very good daily drinker at $60.

9 days ago 2Who liked this?

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in