Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Glenfarclas 12 Year Old

Nozinan Mini and Sample Series - 45

3 684

@NozinanReview by @Nozinan

9th May 2018

0

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    84

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

A recent review of this expression reminded me that I received a sample of this from @OdysseusUnbound back in 2017. I’ve wanted to try it for a while but I’ve not had an opportunity to sit down with it. Tonight, I got that opportunity.

The bottle was, if I remember correctly, a replacement for a tainted bottle he originally bought at the LCBO. His review can be found here:

connosr.com/glenfarclas-12-year-old-whisky…

The bottle was opened October 2017 and the sample poured, I believe, in November. This expression is reviewed in a Highland whisky glass in my usual manner, allowing it to settle after which I take my nosing and tasting notes, followed by the addition of just a few drops of water, waiting, then nosing and tasting.


Nose: 21.5/25

On first pour, fruity and sweet. Cherries. Slight vegetal quality. With time the pitch lowers a little bit, with a sour cherry note coming forward. Waiting a little longer, the sherry becomes quite prominent, and the vegetal note seems to diminish. A little bit of baking spice in the background. Adding water seems to make the nose slightly richer. (22/25)

Taste: 20.5/25

Rich arrival, sweet. Slight alcohol nip. Fruity. A little thin in the development. Not very complex. Water tones down the alcohol burn just a little, and the flavours become a little more complex. (21/25)

Finish: 19/25

Astringent, I get dryness but no flavour. Lasts a pretty long time. Water adds some sweetness to the finish. (20/25)

Balance: 20.5/25

The taste does not quite deliver what the nose promises. Maybe a little underpowered at 43%, and the complexity just isn’t there. Water improves it just a touch (21/25)

Score: Neat - 81.5/100 With Water: 84/100


Trader Joe’s Milk chocolate compliments it, but does not really improve it.


This isn’t bad. I had considered buying a bottle last year and I’m glad I didn’t, because I already have other whiskies that do a better job of anything this one is trying to do. This experience highlights the importance of a sample-trading network to cut down un-necessary expenses.

Thanks again @odysseusUnbound for this opportunity.

Related Glenfarclas reviews

6 comments

@OdysseusUnbound
OdysseusUnbound commented

Great review. I enjoyed this whisky the longer it was exposed to air. The last third of the bottle whence came this sample was more enjoyable than the first two thirds. I think @Victor was right when he suggested (in my review of this whisky) that I might like it better if I tucked it away for a year or two. Of course, I'm far too impatient for that.

Did you get any hints of smoke? I feel like there was a tiny bit in there, but I could have been imagining it. Or it could have been barrel notes...

3 months ago 0

@Victor
Victor commented

@OdysseusUnbound, well, just go out and buy 20 or 30 new bottles and you shouldn't have much trouble keeping a few of them around for a while. Yeah, I know, those bottles have gotten pricey, so 20 bottles will cost ya more than a little bit.

3 months ago 2Who liked this?

@OdysseusUnbound
OdysseusUnbound commented

@Victor My wife is already unimpressed by the size of my.....collection. I’ve had to pump the brakes on my attempt to stockpile enough JP Wiser’s Dissertation to get me through the zombie apocalypse....

3 months ago 0

@MadSingleMalt
MadSingleMalt commented

Wives come and go, but whisky is forever.

3 months ago 1Who liked this?

@OdysseusUnbound
OdysseusUnbound commented

@MadSingleMalt True, but I can't imagine any woman being impressed with the size of my.........................................whisky collection.

3 months ago 1Who liked this?

@Nozinan
Nozinan commented

I didn't really get hint of smoke @OdysseusUnbound. I did find I enjoyed it more as it got air in the glass. The sample is gone now, but not yet forgotten.

3 months ago 1Who liked this?

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in