Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Macallan Cask Strength

Sherry and Syrup

0 884

@dbkReview by @dbk

11th May 2010

0

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    84

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

This is the first Macallan in my cabinet thus far, and it is undoubtedly a bold one. The nose is an immediate, lingering burst of sherry, dripping with cinnamon-dusted raisins. The body is rich and syrupy, sherry dominating the palate as it does the nose. Again, spices brighten the profile—cinnamon, clove, perhaps even nutmeg. A bit of water helps open this wound-up whisky somewhat, revealing a taste of caramel beneath the surface. The finish is long and generous.

I enjoy this dram, especially in the late evening, but I do not find it has the subtlety or complexity of the Aberlour A'bunadh, for instance. The syrupy sherry of The Macallan Cask Strength is lovely, initially, but becomes too much too quickly, needing something to temper it. A good drink on a cold night, certainly, but best in small doses.

Related Macallan reviews

8 comments

@AboutChoice
AboutChoice commented

Good review ... I'm glad you compared it to A'bunadh, which I actually find to be a bit too strong. For the Mac, I wonder if a little ice would be good to temper it?

11 years ago 0

@jdcook
jdcook commented

I'm not super big on ice, but I wonder if a small amount of room temp water would allow it to open up (much like the A'bunadh). Still, sounds like it is worth a look.

11 years ago 0

@WhiskyNotes
WhiskyNotes commented

Did you try the old version that's pictured, or the new version in the red box?

11 years ago 0

@BonnieMac
BonnieMac commented

Hey dbk: Good review! I had tasted this at a Macallan dinner recently. As compared to the others, it was a punch in the mouth! So I decided to taste it again, and the same thing - such a strong start. I let it sit a bit swirling it around every few moments, and reluctant to add ice (I don't like m whisky cold -dulls the flavor), and sipped again, which was a little easier to decipher the flavors. Maybe I was the one being tempered to the boldness of this Macallan! [I also broke my rule of adding a couple of drops of water, which helped me taste even more of the flavor components you had listed above.] There is always a space on my self for a Macallan, so I would definitely add this one.

11 years ago 0

@dbk
dbk commented

Thanks for the comments, everyone! I reviewed the newer, red boxed version. A previous reviewer of the same bottle, jwise, also suggested ice, but I have to admit I'm not fond of chilling a fine scotch (much like jdcook and BonnieMac) for fear of masking the flavours and, if the ice melts too much, the whisky becomes overly dilute. Ice can be wonderful in certain whisky cocktails, but I'm simply not crazy about adding it elsewhere.

As I say in the review, a bit of water indeed opened the dram up—undoubtedly, many high ABV whiskies will benefit from this—but I still found the syrupy sherry to predominate over the other flavours. Then again, I am something of a "green" reviewer, and so my palate is assuredly not as refined as some other "Connosrs."

The A'bunadh is an obvious point of comparison to me, but I should probably give it its own, separate review some time in the future. Cheers!

11 years ago 0

@PeatAndMeat
PeatAndMeat commented

I've always got on quite well with the Macallan expressions but wanted a bit more kick, this sounds like it might suit..

11 years ago 0

@LeFrog
LeFrog commented

Friend of mine had a bottle of this which we sampled recently; it's definitly comparable to the A'bunadh.

11 years ago 0

@jwise
jwise commented

If you still have this bottle, experiment with just a sliver of ice, not enough to chill the glass. Watch the swirl of the whisky coming off the ice, and take a short sip after a minute or two of letting it open up. It really changes the whisky into something divine.

When this second bottle of Mac CS runs out, I'm replacing it with an A'Bunadh just to mix it up.

10 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in