Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop

Discussions

Opinions sought: Glenlivet 18 or Dalwhinnie 15?

0 12

@OdysseusUnbound
OdysseusUnbound started a discussion

First, let me say: I realize these whiskies are different.

Ok, with that out of the way, here's my situation:

The LCBO currently has Glenlivet 18 "on sale" for $130 (normally $150). Dalwhinnie 15 sells for about $95. I prefer peated whiskies, but I was thinking of grabbing one of these bottles to have something different on hand (I have a bottle of Springbank 10 at home, and I'm picking up a bottle of Laphroaig 10 very soon). I realize Dalwhinnie polarizes people, and while I've never had a whole bottle, I've had it in restaurants and pubs and I've enjoyed it. I've never tried Glenlivet 18. I'm wondering if it's worth spending the extra $35 on Glenlivet. Reviews for both are mixed (though I believe Ralfy has rated both above 90 points), so I'm just wondering what the fine folks here think. Thanks for any input.

7 years ago

12 replies

@nooch
nooch replied

Glenlivet 18. I'm not a huge fan of their 12 or 15, but their 18 is a step up. I prefer it to the dalwhinnie, which is just ok. To be honest, if you're a peat fan and have $130 burning a hole in your pocket I would get Lagavulin 16. It's significantly better than both.

7 years ago 1Who liked this?

@OdysseusUnbound

@nooch Thanks for the reply. Lagavulin 16 is my absolute favourite malt ever (so far). But I keep trying new malts to broaden my palate. I'm hesitant about spending over $150 on a non-peated or a non Cask-strength whisky, but $130 seems somewhat reasonable (inasmuch as that term can ever be applied to whisky) as long as the quality is there.

7 years ago 0

@nooch
nooch replied

Bowmore laimrig also mixes sweet and peat at a higher ABV (although I don't know if it's currently available). Glenlivet Nadurra is good too. I would get the glenlivet 18 before I'd get dalwhinnie. I'd rather get Johnny Walker Black than Dalwhinnie and save myself $40.

7 years ago 1Who liked this?

@nooch
nooch replied

You might also try ardbeg 10 or talisker 10. Ardbeg Ugiadal (or however the heck you spell it) is good too, but way overpriced in Ontario.

7 years ago 1Who liked this?

@paddockjudge
paddockjudge replied

@OdysseusUnbound, something different from the peat-forward malts you enjoy, other then Glenlivet 18 or Dalwhinnie (both of which I own and could do without), I suggest the delicious and value-packed Johnnie Walker Green Label 15 YO vatted malt. It is highly regarded by many and is currently available at LCBO for $80.

7 years ago 2Who liked this?

@Nozinan
Nozinan replied

I have to agree with @paddockjudge. For value and quality the Green while a blended, not single malt, is probably a better choice. But if you're choosing between the livet 18 and whinnie, I would note that in my experience the latter goes "off" quickly after opening.

Bias alert, persionally I enjoy the livet 18 better.

7 years ago 1Who liked this?

@OdysseusUnbound

@paddockjudge Thanks for the suggestion. I have nothing against blends. I spent the afternoon enjoying some Teacher's Highland Cream and marvelling at how it's possible that a scotch this good sells for only $26.

7 years ago 0

@BlueNote
BlueNote replied

@OdysseusUnbound @paddockjudge is referring to a blended malt which is different from a blended whisky in that it is comprised of all single malts whereas a blended whisky is a blend of single malts and grain alcohol. JW Green is a blended malt (they used to be called vatted malts which was less confusing).

7 years ago 2Who liked this?

@Robert99
Robert99 replied

@OdysseusUnbound If you want something really different why not an Irish whisky. At 90$, Redbreast Lustau is a catch. @Talexander has wrote a nice review of it. I, for myself, find the fruits freshier in that one: more like fruit paste than dried fruits.

The JWGL would be a good choice for me too if there was not a note of varnish I dislike, but it seems I am one of the few to get it.

7 years ago 0

@OdysseusUnbound

@BlueNote Thanks for the info. I didn't realize JW Green was a vatted malt. Interesting...

7 years ago 0

@talexander
talexander replied

I would buy the Dalwhinnie since it is cheaper (and quite good if a little on the sweet side), and try the 'Livet 18 at a bar before you buy it. I like it but prefer the 15.

7 years ago 2Who liked this?

@OdysseusUnbound

Thanks for all the replies and ideas, folks. But a different solution presented itself: I spent $31 on a bottle of Alberta Premium Dark Horse. Those who visit me and don't like peated whisky can have a nip of the Dark Horse or the Four Roses Single Barrel, and I can continue spending the "big bucks" (big for my whisky budget) on the peated malts I love (as suggested by @nooch)

7 years ago 1Who liked this?