Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Blanton's Gold Edition

Christmas Come Early

0 695

@OJKReview by @OJK

15th Jun 2010

0

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    95

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

Nose, Taste, Finish and Balance are graded out of 2.5 each:

Nose: Immense fruit and spice, perfectly balanced. There is a deep and sophisticated sweetness to it, accentuated by the high alcohol content. I can't help but feel that it smells like christmas, or at least a warm peach crumble by the fireside. 2.5

Taste: Incredibly smooth. The whisky seems to caress your tongue while dazzling you with it's depth and rich fruit flavour. Once again it's christmas, this time a beautiful warm mince pie, melting on the tongue. A truly sensual experience. 2.5

Finish: The mince pie is followed by an accompanying vanilla ice cream, as it should be. The vanilla is soft, alluring, and once again very sophisticated, however sadly in more of a rush than the fruit flavours that preceded it. Nonetheless sublime. 2.0

Balance: Wow. A total superstar Bourbon, probably as good as I've tried. I'm a fan of stronger bourbons, and here the higher alcohol content has put the mesmerising fruit, spice and vanilla notes on a pedestal, leaving you totally entranced. I wish it was christmas every day. 2.5

Related Blanton's reviews

6 comments

@TheFitz
TheFitz commented

Any age statement on this Blantons? The dark color is wonderful.

7 years ago 0

@OJK
OJK commented

Unfortunately not. There's some interesting info on the blanton's website (www.blantonsbourbon.com), however no age statement. The bottle itself is quite unique in that it has handwritten on it the day it was "dumped" (this particular bottle on the 16th of December 2008, so literally christmas come early!) and from which barrel, warehouse, and rick it was from. The personalised touch makes you grow pretty attached!

7 years ago 0

@TheFitz
TheFitz commented

Those few bottles that you can get ahold of that have the handwritten cask/batch/dates on them are great. Make you feel like one of a kind. Thanks for the review man, its great to hear different opinions on whisky that aren't even available in Michigan.

7 years ago 0

@OJK
OJK commented

Definitely, with this bottle I practically feel like an adoptive parent. Crazy that it's available here in the uk and not in the us (except for us airports apparently), i guess they really are sending them abroad for adoption. Hope you get to try it soon, it's pretty incredible stuff. That said I couldn't help checking out your cabinet - definitely a lot of whiskies there I wouldn't mind trying myself! (particularly the old forester, can't seem to find it outside the us)

7 years ago 0

@flyfish
flyfish commented

OJK, My wife and I visited the Buffalo Trace distillery a couple weeks ago. They were bottling Blanton's (four at a time), inserting the fancy corks, and applying labels by hand. There was a pallet of bourbon cases ready to go out the door to Japan. Our guide said their high-end bourbons enjoy a huge following abroad. This may explain why Blanton's in available in the UK but I can't find it in Ohio even though Kentucky is our neighbor to the south. In addition, Ohio has an antiquated state-controlled liquor distribution system which means we get to buy what some bureaucrat thinks we ought to like.

6 years ago 0

@Wills
Wills commented

Great review! I firstly saw a video review of this dram and after these 2 absolutely positive feedbacks I am looking so much forward to get this one by christmas!

Slainte :)

5 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in