Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Macallan 10 Year Old Fine Oak

A buttery blonde

0 673

@conorrobReview by @conorrob

9th Oct 2013

0

  • Nose
    17
  • Taste
    19
  • Finish
    15
  • Balance
    22
  • Overall
    73

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

This is my first taste of Macallan after hearing many great reviews about it. A good friend of mine who actually introduced me into the world of whisky is a great believer in the quality of this particular distilleries products. This is one of the first things in this field I must say I disagree entirely with him about.

Nose: Strong scent of vanilla and toffee with a touch of oak. No complexity here though which is rather disappointing

Palate: A sweet and buttery sensation engulfs my tongue. The body is smooth and very light lacking any real sustenance.

Finish: Short finish which I must say was kind of expected after a taste. The body just doesn't hold up long enough.

The lack of complexity in this whisky has really disappointed. Its a relatively expensive scotch and my personal view is that it rides on its distilleries fame and the reputation of its older brothers.

One thing I must say for this dram is that it is very very drinkable. It goes down a real treat and was much appreciated after a hard days work.

Nose:

Body:

Palate:

Related Macallan reviews

6 comments

@GotOak91
GotOak91 commented

Great review, usually The Macallan bottlings are known for their sherry influenced whiskies and yes they are expensive even at the base ages. Or now their non-age-statement bottles. I can't say too much negative things as I haven't tried them yet. There is a Sherry oak 10 yr that catches my eye.

5 years ago 0

@GotOak91
GotOak91 commented

Or was it Sherry Oak 12 (Just thought of that)

5 years ago 0

@conorrob
conorrob commented

Thanks, don't get me wrong it's a nice little scotch (nice being the only boring adjective available here) I just can't justify it for the price here ... if it was floating around the £20-£25 mark it would probably be a constant in my cupboard. The Sherry oak looks good ! I like the look of the older fine oaks but then thats just me. I will definitely go back to Macallan for a second taste... just not with this particular bottle.

5 years ago 0

@Victor
Victor commented

This review makes me wonder whether this batch of Macallan 10 Fine Oak differs a lot from the bottle I bought 3 years ago. My bottle is extremely fruity, and unusually fruity of peaches, which I very rarely get from any whisky. It is indeed quite a light drink, and you have to be in that frame of mind to enjoy it. While I did find it light indeed, I did not find that bottle boring because those particular fruity flavours were very different from other whiskies, and quite pleasant. One batch to another these whiskies can vary quite a lot. Absent the fruit, drinking from my bottle of Macallan 10 Fine Oak might well have seemed the closest thing to drinking water that I have experienced in a whisky.

5 years ago 0

@Pandemonium
Pandemonium commented

Got to agree here, (@ Victor: I got the fruity notes too, I'm not saying that this is a bad whisky. But Macallan has made a big name for itself in the industry, so yes I too expected far more from this one. In my opinion the 10 yo might just be a bit too immature to be bottled yet

5 years ago 0

@conorrob
conorrob commented

@Pandemonium I agree entirely ! 2 more years in the oaky comfort of a cask and it's score may have been much higher! @Victor Peaches never reached me.... butter butter butter were my thoughts. The water thing isn't a bad characteristic in my view. It was different from any whisky I have tasted before in the fact that I thought I could have given it to a friend who had never touched strong spirit before and he would have enjoyed it thoroughly. The score I gave this scotch was bad and I will stick by my review..... but ... and its a big but ... there are many whiskies I would rate this low ... not so many from that group that I would buy for my cupboard.... this one I definitely would. I would drink it with my partner and she would enjoy it as much as me... Not many whiskies I could put in that category....

5 years ago 0

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in