Whisky Connosr

Port Charlotte PC6

Overrated

0 887

FReview by @FormerlyRigmorole

15th Dec 2013

0

Port Charlotte PC6
  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    87

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

Smells like Longrow. Don't lose any sleep if it is hard to obtain. Overrated. I now own two bottles of it and regret going to the trouble of obtaining them.

Related Port Charlotte reviews

8 comments

If you own the Whisky Bible, take it with a grain of salt.

2 years ago 0

@vanPelt
vanPelt commented

Ouch! Haven't had it. What was your take on the PC8, in comparison? I recall you mentioning you'd get/got one a few times.

2 years ago 0

vanPelt: It's actually better today. I was a little buzzed when I hastily hammered out the "review" late last night. The bottle needed air and it's better already. I would say it actually reminds me quite a bit of the Laphroaig cask strength 003 but with a longer finish. I uppped the score to 90 and I apologize if I disparaged Jim Murray (not that he cares since I'm just a "nobody"). I like the PC6. Have tried the PC7. It's very different from the 6. Surprisingly different. Not sure how it's so different. I like them both. The 7 is more caramelly perhaps but also more strong. It reminds me of the Iliac (young Lagavulin) I tasted at my friend's house. I am warming up to the PC6. Have not tried the PC8 but I own a bottle. Not interested in the PC10 unless at cask strength, which is too expensive, IMHO. I'm quite keen on trying my PC8. Wish I had two bottles. Just couldn't justify that without tasting it first and then got sidetracked. Found two bottles of PC6 on a fluke.

2 years ago 0

@sengjc
sengjc commented

I got my bottles of the PC6 when they were still widely available and reasonably priced so no regrets.

I think I'll keep them for collecting purposes at least in the medium term.

2 years ago 0

I have one more unopened bottle of PC6 that I would trade for a bottle of Highland Park 25. Hey, I'm just sayin. . . if you live near Portland Oregon and you love PC6, think on it.

2 years ago 0

I'm starting to really enjoy this whisky. My apologies for judging it rashly. It really is quite spectacular. It simply needed more time to oxygenate than most. The bottle is amazing now. I will write up proper tasting notes soon.

2 years ago 0

@newlad56
newlad56 commented

The thing I've learned about appreciating whisk(e)y is to try it under different conditions. I've said a lot of things I've regretted. The fact that you now think you acted hastily says volumes about your character (all good, BTW.). Keep calm and drink more Scotch (or any other whisk(e)y you may prefer.).

2 years ago 0