Whisky Connosr
Menu
Shop Join

Talisker 8 Year old Cask Strength Special Release 2021

FOMO has its benefits

9 189

@NozinanReview by @Nozinan

11th Apr 2022

1

  • Nose
    ~
  • Taste
    ~
  • Finish
    ~
  • Balance
    ~
  • Overall
    89

Show rating data charts

Distribution of ratings for this: brand user

In 1998 my future wife and I attended an intimate wedding ceremony as friends of the bride (her) and groom (me). None of our photos has the other in them and there is no evidence that we met. 17 Years ago today, June 10 2005, we met for the first time on a blind date. 16 years ago today, at about the time I am writing this, She agreed to marry me (the ring probably helped).

To top it off, I was on call last night from 7 pm to 7 am. I got a single page at 930 pm. If ever there was a reason to celebrate with a dram…

I have more whisky than I can ever drink, yet FOMO is a strong force in my life. When I saw a couple of posts about this and checked the LCBO website which had none for sale, I felt a wave of it wash over me. So that when I was redirected to the appropriate “Vintages” (part of the LCBO) site and saw dozens available, I immediately ordered one. I picked it up last weekend while out on a patient visit (on the way back), and opened it the same day to see if FORO would be in play as well.

Why was FOMO a huge issue? Beats me. I experienced it in 2019 when an earlier edition was available in Quebec. Thanks to @Cricklewood I got a bottle but it is not yet open (!). I do have a sample of it that I tasted once and will in the future compare to this one (maybe in a review). But FOMO remains a driving force in my cabinet decisions, and I don’t see a cure for it happening any time soon.

This expression is reviewed in my usual manner, allowing it to settle into a Brilliant Highland Whisky Glass, after which I take my nosing and tasting notes, followed by the addition of a few drops of water, waiting, then nosing and tasting.


I rarely comment on appearance, but the canister has some great artwork. Inside, the bottle contains a very pale liquid. There is no mention of caramel or chill filtration, but I would be surprised if this is not “au naturelle”.

Nose: 22.5/25

Sweet, Fruity. Lots of peat. Some baking spices, stewed apple pie filling perhaps? There is an almost tropical nature to the fruitiness. A hint of cured, salted ham. A very “dusty” nose.

With water, the peat settles down a little and the fruit is more noticeable. (23/25)

Taste: 22/25

The first sip barely has a chance to show its sweet fruity side and I am engulfed in a wave of peat. There is a sour note, slightly citrus. Lots of pepper in the development. Powerful on the palate.

Water makes the arrival a lot more peppery and pushes the peat into the development. The sour citrus takes on more lemony qualities. (21.5/25)

Finish: 22/25

Peppery, astringent, lots of peat on the breath. With water the peat is more persistent.

Balance: 22/25

There is probably more nuance than my poor palate can tease out, but it is overwhelmed by the (delicious) peat. Water tones down the peat but raises the pepper.

Score: Neat - 88.5/100 With Water: 88.5/100


This is a great Scotch. It ticks of all of the Talisker boxes for me.

Will I get another? There are still 43 bottles available. At $120 Canadian, it’s not a bad price for a good quality CS whisky. I would say that if I had no other CS or high proof Taliskers in my collection, I would definitely get another. But I have three (57º N, 8 YO CS and 15 YO CS), and literally no room to put it. The fact that there is no room is likely the most compelling antidote to FORO.

For anyone who likes their whisky peaty and peppery, and has it available locally, this one is a must-have.

Related Talisker reviews

1 comments

@Victor
Victor commented

@Nozinan thank you for your nice review. Like most Taliskers this one has a lot of appeal. Even before having read any reviews if someone has asked me, "Would you care for some 8 year old Talisker at Cask Strength?" my response would have been, "Of course! Any time!"

about one month ago 5Who liked this?

You must be signed-in to comment here

Sign in